Before we were yours : a novel
—Wingate, Lisa, author.
Book
2019
6 available of 50 items

"Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis,a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"-- Provided by publisher.

Item Details
Subjects:
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Families -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Kidnapping -- Fiction.
Kidnapping victims -- Fiction.
Orphanages -- Fiction.
Genre:
Domestic fiction.
ISBN:
9780425284704
9780425284681
0425284700
0425284689
Edition:
Ballantine Books trade paperback edition.
Description:
356 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Notes:
Publisher, pagination and printing dates may vary.
LCCN:
2019295600
Link to PAC
More Information