Burnt Sugar : A Novel.
—Doshi, Avni.
Book
2021
0 available of 8 items

For fans of Deborah Levy's Hot Milk and Sheila Heti's Motherhood, a searing literary debut novel set in India about mothers and daughters, obsession and betrayal "I would be lying if I say my mother's misery has never given me pleasure," says Antara, Tara's now-adult daughter. In her youth, Tara was wild. She abandoned her marriage to join an ashram, and while Tara is busy as a partner to the ashram's spiritual leader, Baba, little Antara is cared for by an older devotee, Kali Mata, an American who came to the ashram after a devastating loss. Tara also embarks on a stint as a beggar (mostly to spite her affluent parents) and spends years chasing a disheveled, homeless artist, all with young Antara in tow. But now Tara is forgetting things, and Antara is an adult--an artist and married--and must search for a way to make peace with a past that haunts her as she confronts the task of caring for a woman who never cared for her. Sharp as a blade and laced with caustic wit, Burnt Sugar unpicks the slippery, choking cord of memory and myth that binds mother and daughter. Is Tara's memory loss real? Are Antara's memories fair? In vivid and visceral prose, Tibor Jones South Asia Prize-winning writer Avni Doshi tells a story, at once shocking and empathetic, about love and betrayal between a mother and a daughter. A journey into shifting memories, altering identities, and the subjective nature of truth, Burnt Sugar is a stunning and unforgettable debut.

Item Details
Subjects:
FICTION
FICTION / Literary
ISBN:
9781419752926
1419752928
Description:
240 pages
Notes:
Library Bound Incorporated
Link to PAC
More Information